Newbie to the Novarel world

I had my mid cycle ultrasound yesterday.  My husband was able to go into work a bit later so that he could go with me. Thankfully, my sister was able to watch E in the early morning, god bless her heart (Mondays and Tuesdays are her days off).  I am so thankful to her, as she’s been a big help to us when we have scheduled appointments.  I appreciate her more then she will ever know, or I will ever be able to show her!

At my ultrasound, the good news is that I did have one follicle that was maturing.  I was hoping to have at least two, but I am content that there is at least one.  Without one, we wouldn’t be able to move forward. The bad news is that they are continuing to see simple cysts on my ovaries that they believe to be functional cysts.  I wish these buggers would just go away and never come back.  Unfortunately, they come and go on a regular basis though.  Although I had these before taking the medication they say that they  can also be a side effect of Clomid.  Right now, the nurse said that they should not be affecting much of anything though.

After the ultrasound, we had a consult about the findings of the ultrasound and what our next steps are for this week.  My husband and I were trained on how to administer the Novarel injection (hcg).  Let me tell you, I am less then thrilled to go through this part of it.  We are complete newbie’s to the Novarel world and I am terrified.  I am first terrified as neither my husband or I have ever administered a shot.  Although, the process looks easy enough I am secondly terrified because my husband has a weak stomach when dealing with anything medical and I fear he will pass out.  They recommend my husband administer the shot as it has to be given in my butt muscle and well that’s kind of a hard area for me to administer a shot to myself. Thirdly, I am so scared that it is going to hurt like hell.  I do trust my husband and given all I have been through already I know I am strong enough to go through with this but I am still terrified.  We do this tonight between 7-8pm.  Please wish us luck.  After this, our 3rd IUI is scheduled.  Then, it’s the dreaded 2WW.

Featured image

I am so thankful for my husband and I know 100% I married the right man.  I wouldn’t want to go through this with anyone but him.  He handles everything with grace.  He is patient.  He is loving.  He is kind.  Best of all he is by my side through it all.  

Featured image

Although, this type of injection is only one time in a cycle…it is anything but sexy.  In fact, infertility throws that out the window pretty quickly.  My poor husband!

Featured image

I remember dancing to this song in college with my girlfriends when we would have wild and crazy nights out together.  Oh, how the times have changed.  This poster made me laugh because it’s so true.

Featured image

Right on Grumpy Cat, right on!

If it doesn’t take this cycle, we are planning on doing the HSG test next as we would rather not go through another IUI until we know my tubes are not blocked. However, we were told yesterday that we have to take a month off medication before doing that test.  I am praying that this time around it works and we don’t get to that dreaded test, however, it’s good to know what’s to come so I have time to mentally prepare.

As always, continued prayers are much appreciated during this difficult time in our lives.  With some of the posters I post, I try to make light of our situation and find some laughter amongst the tears (you just have to do this to keep your sanity), but in all reality it’s no laughing matter and a very real struggle and heartache–not something to take lightly by any means.

“Anyone can give up.  It’s the easiest thing in the world to do.  But to hold it together when everyone else would understand if you fell apart, that’s true strength.” -Author Unknown

Leave a Reply

