Zach McStuffins

Featured image

Above left is my husband who made me laugh so hard when he came out in my daughters doctor dress up stuff last night saying, “if I’m going to do this, I at least need to play the part”.  You just gotta love him.  Above Right is the Novarel shot. Take note at how big that needle looks! I honestly was more scared of this then getting an epidural when I had E.  No joke.

Zach McStuffins was in the house last night!!! …and, well WE did it!  Zach administered my Novarel shot like a pro and I took the shot like a champ.  I love my husband!  Although, I must be honest and say that I was more nervous then I even thought I would be.  It’s not that I don’t trust my husband, but it’s really nerve racking knowing you are getting a shot from a newbie!  If my husband was nervous, he didn’t even show it and I am so glad he did not pass out!  At about the time my husband was ready to administer the shot, I was the one hesitating (after telling him to not hesitate)! However, he firmly but calmly told me to get a grip and that all was going to be ok and I was able to calm my nerves a bit-quite frankly I just wanted to get it over with.

Luckily, I read up a lot on this shot beforehand and I talked to some other women in my Secondary Infertility Support Group who have had it before and got the wonderful tip to ice the area where the shot was going to be administered for about 10 minutes prior.  Had I not done this, I think it would have been pretty painful (it was a 1.5 inch needle) but because the area was numb I didn’t even know my husband gave me the shot.  I even asked him, “Are you going to do this already” and he responded “I’m done”.  I didn’t believe him at first and thought he was joking.  There was absolutely no pain involved whatsoever.  THANK GOODNESS!

I am completely relieved that this step is over and done with (for now and I really hope there is not a next time).  Afterwards, I did get pretty emotional.  It was all just so overwhelming and nerve racking and then I got sad thinking that we should not have to be going through this in the first place.  Luckily I have a wonderful husband who gives great hugs and a daughter who loves playing doctor and loves putting band-aids on any boo-boos.  This morning I woke up with one muscular sore butt cheek and some minor cramping.

I ran across this poster last night and it has a pretty powerful message.  I just have to keep believing in this as we continue on in our journey.  Much love from me to you:)

Featured image

Leave a Reply

