Time Is Precious

I apologize for the lack of blogging lately.  We’ve been so incredibly busy!  My daughter and I made a 4 hour trip to Western Wisconsin to her grandparents house (my parents) from Friday-Monday.  Although, traveling alone with an almost 3 year old for that length of time has its challenges I was really impressed with how well we both did!  Most of all, I am glad we made the trip there and back safely.  Our main reason for going back was for my younger sister’s wedding shower on Sunday.  However, we were thrilled to be able to spend a few extra days just hanging out and enjoying quality time with our family.  There is a time and place for modern day technology and when I am with my family I tend to stay off grid and just be present and enjoy the time we have together. Blogging can wait-family can not!

While spending time with my family, I got the unfortunate news that our community back here in Eastern Wisconsin was reminded how precious life and family/friends really are.  Sadly, this reminder came once again from a random act of violence. It was a beautiful spring day out on Sunday when these events occurred at a public park/trail in the area.  Many were out with their families or just enjoying a peaceful run/walk.  No one expected this, everyone was caught off guard. Some, were just in the wrong place at the wrong time. Life is so precious, it can be taken at any moment.   It has been nearly 3 days since I found out about this horror and I am still trying to wrap my head around this reality that is just so close to home. A man and his 11 year old daughter shot to death.  His wife shot 3 times and in serious condition and another innocent man shot and killed.  The shooter then turned the gun on himself and committed suicide.  When you hear of acts of violence, such as this happening your heart goes out, you are saddened, and question why? When it happens in your own community you still feel all of those things, but it forever changes you.  It is scary.  It is mind boggling. It is heart wrenching. My husband worked with the Man who was shot.  We, as a family have walked that same trail and played at that same park numerous times.  We even had family pictures taken there when E was only 11 months old.  I have to admit, it scares me because it could have been us.  The reality of that makes you hold on to your loved ones just a little more tighter and realize life is never in our control, to enjoy life to it’s fullest for we never know when it will be our last, and to always tell  the people you care about that you love them.  I look at my daughter and as mother, the mere thought of losing my child is just so profound.  My continued thoughts and prayers go out to the families whose lives were shattered in just a blink of an eye as well as our community.  My prayers go out to all who witnessed this unfold and to all who lent a helping hand that night-professionals, volunteers, and bystanders.  Faith. Hope. Love.

On a much, much, much lighter tune.  Today is my birthday!  Yup, I am 30+1 years old today.  As much as I could complain about my age and getting older, I am going to embrace it.  I am lucky to be here another year.  I’ve enjoyed my years past, but I very much look forward to this year and years to come.  I’ve done a lot of reflecting today and all I can say is as many hardships as this last year has brought me-I am truly blessed.  When I asked my daughter today if she made me a birthday cake, her response was-“No, not yet, I’m waiting for Daddy to get home.”  When I asked her if she got me a birthday present, she said-“Mama, it’s not Christmas.”  Little does she know that she is the best gift a girl could ask for:)

On that note, I am going to make this blog short and sweet today because like I said-family before blogging and it being my birthday I just want to enjoy time with my husband and daughter.  Nothing makes me happier then them! My birthday wish for you is that you go and enjoy the rest of your day and turn off technology tonight and just be present with the ones you love.  Time is so precious and I think oftentimes we take it for granted.

Leave a Reply

