It happens over night…

It seems like my itty bitty baby girl turned into a big girl in a blink of an eye.  She’s going on a full week and 3 days of wearing big girl underpants (except when we are in the car, run errands, etc).  The biggest news is she is finally telling us when she has to go to the bathroom. This is something she hasn’t done before.  We previously were setting a timer for every hour and just crossed our fingers we didn’t miss our chances when it was time for her to go (which worked some of the time and not others of course).  Last week she was playing at the neighbors house and there is a full yard between ours and the yard she was playing in.  My husband said she all of a sudden just stopped and booked it all the way back to our house.  By the time my husband got to the house, E had gone to the bathroom at our house IN THE TOILET all by herself (I missed this one because I was mowing our lawn).  We are just so happy something is clicking with this potty training business.  I’d say this is one of the many joys of parenting because lets face it, potty training has been very hard with E!

We’ve been struggling with potty training her for quite some time now and everyone said, “don’t push her, one day she’ll wake up and she’ll decide to just do it.”  Of course, I continued to fret over her NOT using the potty and we continued to PUSH.  Cripes, I had introduced her to potty training at about 18 months (way to early, I know).  I mean what did those people know anyways?!  Well, those people were right.  She woke up last Monday and decided she was going to wear underwear IF Mama gave her chocolate chips after she went potty.  Look at my little lady telling me how to bribe her-as if the answer to getting her to potty was as easy as giving her chocolate chips this whole time (I previously, had been giving her M&M’s and/or Tootsie rolls)!  Which by the way, chocolate chips quickly turned into hershey chocolate kisses after potty instead.

So, yes…it seemed this happened over night and I couldn’t be more proud of the progress we are making with this milestone.  I am even more excited because when she turned 3, I was really thinking she wouldn’t be potty trained by September.  It’s been my hope that she was, because then she can start 3K 2 days a week for the year.  If she wasn’t potty trained by September she wouldn’t be able to go to 3K.  I know she has her entire life for school BUT E has been home with me since she was a baby.  There’s been no day care and rarely much time apart from me.  I am very excited for her to go to 3K so she can make new friends, learn new things, form relationships with other adults and learn some independence away from me (*tears*).  I just want her to keep thriving and I just know she would just love 3K.  If she keeps going at this rate, we will have succeeded and she’ll get to go to school.  This makes my heart very happy!

Potty training, by the way, has been my least favorite thing to do so far as a parent.  I may have mentioned this in a previous post.  It’s just down right frustrating and messy and let me tell you the messes come when you seem to be the least prepared for them to come.  I am the first to admit, it’s the least patient I have ever been as a parent too!  However, knowing what I know now…I shouldn’t have stressed over it as much as I did and I should have listened to the more “well seasoned” parents when they told me not to push and not to fret over it.  You better believe the best advice I will give to the next parent who asks me on tips about potty training will be:  “Don’t fret, don’t push them.  It happens over night.  One day they wake up and just decide to do it….on their own terms, in their own way.”  I can’t wait to get the eye roll and the “uh-huh, sure” just like the many of you got from me when you told me the same thing.  Children are simply amazing and truly do all go at their own pace.  It’s official-E won’t be in diapers in College, uffda! Big relief!

My reality is hard to swallow though, my baby officially is NOT a baby anymore. I have a little girl who wears underwear. Wow! I’m not quite sure how I feel about this, but ready or not–it is here.  One thing I do know is that I am so ready to have another baby.  Ironically, I am actually really looking forward to doing this all over again, even the part I’ve disliked the most, potty training!  I’m a bit more seasoned now at least!

Featured image

Featured image

Featured image

Leave a Reply

