Nothing Major, just a small update.

There are no major updates to report.  However, I know I have been MIA lately.  I thought I would take some time this morning between goosebumps and shivers (It is currently only 58 degrees right now here in WI), while sipping my coffee to keep warm, and fill you in on an apt coming up, what we’ve been up to and how big my litte E is getting.

To start with, a while back we had to cancel our RE appointment in Green Bay because we could not afford the same day consult fee that they slapped us with.  It was very unfortunate, but like anything we pressed forward through tears and yet another hump in our journey.  We are by no means in any better financial situation right now, but we did go ahead and make a new RE apt.  We did do a little more research and also checked in with some people we know going through similar situations and decided on a different doctor in Gurnee, IL.  The consult fee is half of what it was in WI and we have heard nothing but amazing things about the doctor we will be working with there.  I have been working on paperwork for them and making sure all my past tests from WI are sent over so that we don’t have to duplicate any tests that we’ve already had to do.  I also have about two pages worth of questions prepared to ask this new doctor.  I’m both scared, excited, and very anxious for this consult.  You just never know what a second opinion can bring about.  I am just so thankful that we will finally have the opportunity to work with an RE and get that second opinion.  I am beyond grateful.  The agony of waiting and the uncertainty of it all is exhausting.  I just have faith that we will turn the page to this and good things will happen…eventually.

However, exhausting it’s all been…I’ve really been trying to put my focus elsewhere the last couple of months.  I feel like I’ve had a shift in my attitude about this whole experience and have been a bit more positive.  I am not giving up, but we’ve been hurting over this for so long that something just snapped in me.  Life is too precious to not enjoy what is right in front of you and that is what I’ve been trying to focus on more of and not let this bump take away from the joys I already have.  A positive attitude truly makes a big difference.  We finally made time for family fun and we had the most amazing and relaxing “get-away” last weekend.  My family and I were able to take a camping trip for the first time, just the 3 of us…or 4 because you have to count our Haddie Dog!  My kind in-laws let us borrow their camper and it was just the best kind of quality time spent together. We went to the beach, we rode bike, we went for walks, we sat around the campfire and roasted marshmellows and made s’mores, we played shadow puppets in the dark, we played tag and hide and seek, we played in the sand, we read stories together, played games, played with Haddie, etc! Most importantly it was stress free, old-fashioned fun and extremely relaxing. I think it’s safe to say everyone had the best time together and it was very much needed before summer comes to a close.

It’s so crazy to think that summer is coming to an end already and Fall is approaching.  There is a new chill in the air the last couple of days and as much as I enjoy aspects of Fall here in WI, Summer surely is never long enough (and of course winter is never short enough)!  On Wednesday, we had parent orientation for our soon to be little-big girl who is starting 3K! I got a bit emotional even during the meeting when we got to meet E’s teacher and then she was explaining what a typical day would be like in the 3 year old classroom.    I think in part they were tears of excitement for E because I just know how much she is going to love school, learning new things, making new friends, and getting new experiences.  They were also tears of fear, because like any parent I am going to worry about her not being under my wing 24/7 during the day BUT the tears were also because I know we are getting to the point where E needs to go off on her own without us a little here and a little there-it’s a part of life.  However, this part of life just seems like it happened so fast.  I feel like one minute I was riding in the back of the car taking this beautiful little baby girl home from the hospital and I blinked and she’s now this little girl who can walk and talk and is her own little person.  It just amazes me that she is 3 and even more crazy she will be 4 next year at this time.  It’s like a waterworks show here just thinking about it.  Cripes, I need to buy stock in tissues for the first day…remind me to not wear eye make up that day, please!

Speaking of my little big girl-I hear the water running in the bathroom sink and that is never a good thing unsupervised…so, on that note I need to let this entry be short and sweet.  Sorry for going off the grid for a while, but sometimes you need to just unplug, relax and enjoy life!  I just ask of you to keep my family in your prayers, especially in the upcoming weeks with our appointment coming up and our little-big girl starting 3K.  Your prayers, as always, are appreciated!

It’s a new day-enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

