Oh Darling, Don’t You Ever Grow up…

Today is a “BIG” day for E at school.  It is picture day and her very first show and tell.  I sure wish I could be a fly on the wall!  She’s so excited!  It was RED theme at school this week.  Monday they were to wear red so being any good WI family we dressed her in a Red Hello Kitty WI Badger T-shirt! Always rooting for our Badgers!  You can guess that show and tell today is also red themed.  E is bringing her little red plastic frog that the neighbor boy gave her.  She just raves about this little red frog, so surely she is going to enjoy sharing it with all of her classmates and her teachers.  Since it is also picture day today, we took time last night and picked out a special picture day outfit and I took extra time curling her hair while she practiced her cheesiest smiles in the mirror.  It was pretty darn cute and I just enjoy these moments with her to their entirety!

Her teacher spoke with me briefly too and mentioned they (her and the other teacher) were surprised at how petite E is and figured she would be on the shy/quiet side, probably not talk as much as the older 3’s and would have a lot of learning to do throughout the year.  However, she said my little one quickly shocked them on the 1st day and again taught them to “never judge a book by its cover” because she said E is “very smart and has an amazing vocabulary and was one of the biggest participators in the class!”  They also mentioned she was very well behaved and followed directions wonderfully.  You have no idea what a BIG compliment this is and how very happy I was to hear this!  E has always amazed us by her vocabulary and how fast she can pick up things and use them in her everyday life.  It just makes me so incredibly happy that she is her true self at school just as she is at home!  My husband and I are doing something right and we are just so proud of our little!

Since yesterday was an “off” day for us meaning no extra kids at our house and no school.  We had an E and Mommy Day. We went to the library to “Our Time”.  She graduated from lap-sit and now goes to the 3-5 year old program.  So we enjoyed song, dance, finger plays, stories and a cute puppet show together.  We had lunch together when that was done, E’s pick which was to go home and have Corn Doggies, string cheese, and peaches!  We then visited with Aunty AJ and E was thrilled that Aunty gave her a magic mirror that was Aunty AJ’s when she was a little girl.  If you knew E, she just adores her Aunty AJ so this just made her day extra special.  When our visit was over we enjoyed reading some new library books we got together and then we cuddled and she was on her way to nap!  After her nap, we rode our bike to the park and enjoyed stopping at 2 of the parks along our ride where we played endless amounts of pretend Beauty and the Beast on the playground equipment (our castle) and played tag and went on the swings and played in the sand!  It was a beautiful September day outside and even more beautiful because we got to spend quality time together!

Featured image

This was E at the Lions Park, happily sitting on a statue of a Lion!

Days spent with E are the best sorts of days in my book!  It’s the simple things that we do together that make my heart happy. Even when she just puts her hand in mine, or looks at me with her big beautiful eyes, or laughs at my jokes, or sits on my lap and snuggles in…these are the times I cherish  Judging by E’s giggling, smiles, and joy she was displaying I know she was enjoying her day with me too!

As I dropped E off at school today and she turned to give me a kiss and hug, I noticed she squeezed me extra tight today…almost as if she knew I needed an extra tight hug today!  Then as her embrace ended I stood up and said I loved her and hoped she had a good day.  As I was walking out of school, I realized letting go never gets easier.  Although she’s growing up…she’ll always be my baby and the biggest chunk of my heart!

With that, there are certain songs that I hear that put me in a certain place and evoke a certain feeling.  Yesterday and even today as I was enjoying those special moments in time with my daughter I thought of this song called, “Never Grow Up”, by Taylor Swift. It gets me every time and always makes me think of E!

Leave a Reply

