Today We Remember…

Featured image

A mother is not defined by the number of children you can see, but by the love she holds in her heart.-Unknown

October 15th is a day to remember all those who have experienced the devastating loss of a pregnancy and/or infant loss. Today I remember.  Today I will take a few seconds out of my day to say a prayer for you. Today I will pray for your angel babies who will never be forgotten.  I am so sorry for your loss, one that should be remembered, not just today but often. You are not alone and are some of the strongest and bravest people I know.

Although I have never experienced such a horrific loss, and I pray to God I never have to, I am thinking today, of those who have.  I know many friends, family members and acquaintances who have had to grieve over the loss of a pregnancy and/or infant loss. It’s a type of grief many feel they have to brush under the rug or many also feel they shouldn’t talk about. It breaks my heart that society is so hush-hush about this topic. It’s not taboo people-and nobody should be made to feel that it is.

I may not know exactly what that kind of loss feels like, but in a sense I can relate as some say that dealing with infertility second after second, minute after minute, hour after hour, day after day, week after week, month after month, year after year-you experience a comparable amount of loss and grief.  It’s unimaginable.  It’s a nightmare.  It’s unfair.  It’s gut wrenching sad.  It’s stressful.  It’s heartbreaking. It changes you forever and  It lives with you forever.

It’s the type of pain that is misunderstood and not talked about enough.  The pain is very real.  I challenge you today to open up and share your story.  To educate.  To not feel like you have to hide your pain.  You never know how many people you can reach out to and help by doing so.  Sometimes, something that may be very uncomfortable to share, by sharing, you find your biggest sense of relief, you find you can move forward, you find gratefulness that you helped another and you may find the peace you need to be okay.  You are your own advocate and never forget that your struggle and your story matters!

Today I remember.  It’s my hope you take the time to remember too.

What we have once enjoyed and deeply loved we can never lose for all that we love deeply becomes a part of us. -Helen Keller

One thought on “Today We Remember…

  1. Prayers to all the other loss moms out there. It is a club that no women should ever have to join.
    We are united by our stories, sadness and grief. Never be afraid to show you sadness or share your story, you never know who you could help.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

