Spreading Awareness…

 

I recently read that SI accounts for 6 out of every 10 infertility cases in the US.  As I read this stat to my husband last night we were both taken aback by it.  Unfortunately, if it’s one thing we have found out in our struggle with SI it is how common it truly is.  Yet, with it happening so frequently to couples it always amazes me how clueless that the general population is to SI.  There are many who don’t even know it exists  until it happens to them.  Sadly, I have to admit, my husband and I were clueless to this term when we began our journey in trying to get pregnant. I didn’t know SI was a thing.  I was one of the ignorant and probably unknowingly hurt others because I was clueless to it.

However, now that we have been dealing with SI for some time now I am very compassionate about the topic and have also become very sensitive to it.  Although, no one will every know 100% what we are going through especially if SI has never touched their lives, I’m making it my mission to spread awareness about SI and share our story.  I want to share SI information not only to people who are going through it themselves, but also to the people that are ignorant to it and/or know someone going through it and are looking at how to support them.

It’s my hope that one day more awareness is brought to the table about SI. My bigger hope is that one day we will see a change in healthcare in regards to infertility, a change in general mental and emotional support for couples going through SI, and also a change in insurance coverage for infertility expenses including medication and procedures.  It’s amazing how little insurance helps out a couple dealing with SI.  The stress of SI is in and of itself enough, the burden of finances make decisions and “treatment” ten times harder.

One great supporter of SI is http://www.resolve.org/.

“RESOLVE: The National Infertility Association, established in 1974, is a non-profit organization with the only established, nationwide network mandated to promote reproductive health and to ensure equal access to all family building options for men and women experiencing infertility or other reproductive disorders.”

I encourage you to check out Resolve’s website.  Resolve highly encourages individuals dealing with SI help not only to spread awareness about infertility but also encourages the general public to spread awareness as well.  They give ideas on how you can help too. If you are looking to support a great cause this holiday season please consider supporting Resolve.  SI is one of those causes that gets swept under the rug for sure and it’s my hope that this changes, and soon.

Another simple way to spread awareness about SI is to use social media. Facebook is a great place to begin.  It is my challenge to you, to post something in regards to SI (or infertility in general) in your status this week.  You could say something as simple as:  I know someone or I am someone who is 6 out of 10 infertility cases in the US #SecondaryInfertility or you could share your own experience with infertility even if you only know someone going  through it or you are going through it yourself.  You could also spread awareness by using your Pinterest account by creating a board about infertility and pinning things that have to do with it.  Another way to spread awareness is to follow my blog and share my posts with others.  However you choose to help spread awareness is your choice and I highly encourage you to do so.  Every little bit helps bring awareness to the table.  You and I are our own advocates in this.  Thank you in advance for those of you who choose not to ignore this, but to help the cause and spread awareness.  Your support means the world to me not only in my own struggle, but the struggle of everyone else whose life this is affecting.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

