Happy birthday Dad.

Today is my Dad’s 59th birthday. Happiest of birthday’s Dad!  I’ve been teasing him a lot about being an “old fart” but truth is, I’m glad he is here and I’m glad I’ve gotten to have my Dad in my life for this long-he truly is a blessing!  I know I can’t be there to celebrate with him today, but he is close to my heart and in my thoughts.  I never realized how important my Dad is to me until I had my own daughter.  The role of a Dad is so incredibly important and is so very special.  I wanted to take a few extra moments to blog about my Dad and express the importance of birthdays because so often so many of us take them for granted.

Thankfully, we were able to make a visit to my parents at the end of January and got to celebrate an early birthday with my dad. This allowed us to spend some quality time together.  My husband spent a couple evenings ice fishing with him, my daughter enjoyed the small moments (which some day she will quickly learn were the bigger moments), bonding with Papa as he cleaned his fish, laughing while making chocolate malts together, playing together and the endless banter that goes on between the two.  I for one enjoyed seeing my Dad bonding with both my husband and daughter and just being in the moment with my family while I was there.  Seeing my dad laugh and smile brings great joy to my heart.  I’ve quickly realized as an adult how much both my parents mean to me and how special time with them is.   It is so precious, especially since we can not see each other on a regular basis like we used to.  I really miss them everyday.

It amazes me how quickly time has, flown by over the years.  Sometimes, I wake up and really can’t believe I’m an adult, a wife and a parent.  It feels like just yesterday I was living at home with my parents wondering what being all these things would one day be like.  It’s so important to not wish your life away, and thank goodness for the memories we hold so near and dear to our hearts.  I really do miss those times at home (at the time, I just couldn’t wait to be an adult).

Thinking back, I have so many cherished memories with my Dad.  My dad has always been a humorous guy, quick-witted, and a firm, but loving Dad.  He’s been there for me and has provided me a place I can always call home.  He’s taught me so much over the years and I appreciate him being such a huge part of my life and now being a huge part of my husband and daughters life as well.  My love of nature and  being outdoors is something he has instilled in me and I gratefully have spent a lot of time with him doing one of our favorite hobbies together-hunting.  There have been so many special memories made doing this with him that I will forever cherish.  I also have some of my Dad’s humor instilled in me, which may not come out as often as it does in him-but when it does, I will often hear people say, “Gosh, you sound so much like your Dad!”.  If someone would have said that to me when I was a teenager, I would have wanted to slap them-now, as an adult-I’m thrilled when I hear I’m like my Dad. He’s really an awesome, all around wonderful guy.   What can I say?  He’s my Dad. I will always have unconditional love for him.

Every year, birthdays roll around for friends and family and with everything I’ve gone through the past two years struggling with infertility, it reminds me why we truly celebrate them.  We celebrate them because it was the day of your birth. It was the day you miraculously appeared on this earth and gave one of the best gifts you could ever give to your Mom/Dad.  Have you ever stopped to reflect on the moment of your birth?  I know you can’t remember it, but I’m sure you’ve heard stories from your parents about it.  This one day we celebrate you and the miracle that you are.  It is simply amazing.

I am convinced more and more that we are all not here by accident-that we all have some purpose to fulfill here on earth and that is just an astounding thought to me.  Every one of us is to be celebrated-our lives, our accomplishments and what’s to come.  I always hear people griping about “another birthday” “just another year older” “another wrinkle” etc.  I am guilty of this very thing and this year my attitude is shifting.  Be grateful for another birthday, being another year older, and another wrinkle.  It just means your story isn’t done yet and you should take advantage of every moment that God has blessed you with.  Life is so precious-it’s meant to be lived not taken for granted.  Someone wanted you here on earth so badly-maybe it was you who your parents struggled to conceive you and when you finally arrived you gave them the best gift of their life.  This gift of life and you are to be celebrated.  Please don’t take it for granted, cherish it, live your life to it’s fullest, and celebrate your life-especially on your birthday.

So, with that.  Cheers to the first man in my life, a guy that no one will ever replace in my heart, my Dad.  He may be an old fart now-but he’s my old fart and I’m so happy to celebrate another birthday, him being another year older, and the possible extra wrinkle that just showed up today (sorry, I probably gave you most of your previous wrinkles)! You sure are a special son, brother, uncle, friend, husband, dad and grandpa!  So many people love and care about you! There is only one you.  Today we celebrate you 🙂  Happiest of birthdays and hopefully, here is to many more!  I love you to pieces Dad, and I hope one day E not only realizes what a great Papa you are but how lucky she is to also have such a great Dad in her life too, just like I had a great Dad in mine.

"A father is neither an anchor to hold us back, nor a sail to take us there, but a guiding light whose love shows us the way." - Unknown:

My dad is in hospice and is not going to be with us much longer. These are some very true words. My dad is my best friend and I am the person I am because of him.:

 

My Dad and I at my older sister’s wedding reception

A blast from the past, Dad holding my older sister and I- being his goofy self!

One of the many major milestones in my life that my Parents were there for me-my High School Graduation!

Dad teaching me to shoot bow for the first time!

 

A moment I will never forget, my dad holding my daughter (his first granddaughter) for the first time!

I love this picture for so many reasons.  First reason is because I always see my dad happiest when he’s at our Cabin-it’s his happy place!  Secondly, the look on my mom’s face because my Dad is being his typical goofy self is priceless and thirdly-gotta love that shit ass grin of his!

Like I said-I have so many wonderful times that I cherish with my dad and these are only a few.  I enjoy reflecting on these memories-they are cherished and life has only been better because Dad’s in it!

Leave a Reply

