Get Moving, get Motivated!

Just a heads up:  If you follow me on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/nichole.leewhitney) or Instagram (nichole_whitney) you likely saw a post similar to this on Saturday.  However, I thought it was important to blog about this as well because maintaining your physical health is such an important part of your fertility (whether you are struggling to get pregnant and/or are pregnant), it also plays and important role in your mental health and can be a huge stress reliever from day to day.  I know recently when I’ve had a stressful day with my kids, nothing beats sweating it out.  I find that when I do this, even on days I am super tired or am not feeling my best, I find myself feeling like I have so much more energy after a workout and feel 10x better then if I hadn’t worked out!  In the past, when I was struggling with my infertility, exercising was also a wonderful outlet for days I was super depressed.  No matter what, it never fails that exercise is helpful to our bodies in more ways then one and we can all benefit from it.  It’s something that is always a win-win situation.

I know it gets old seeing people constantly post about working out and getting healthy.  I understand though why people do post about it and that is why I am not going to apologize for doing so too.   The struggle to stay motivated and keep at it is HARD & I believe by posting it for all to see helps me stay accountable and I also believe this to be true for others as well. I am about 3 weeks in to working out again post baby and I must say it’s much more difficult the second time around. I am much more tired, making the time is a lot harder and my body is very out of shape. Even with only being 3 weeks in, I can feel myself getting stronger and although getting results isn’t happening as fast as I’d like I am grateful for this body that allowed me to have my babies and that is now allowing me to exercise.

Our bodies are truly remarkable and we need to take care of them to the best of our abilities! I am also grateful to one of my dearest friends & also accountability partner, Jody who is helping me through a 3 month workout challenge…I appreciate your daily check ins, you’ve been a great inspiration and motivator to me and have been great support through other areas of my life as well!  One quote that has been an inspiration to me lately is this: “Believe in yourself, and all that you are. Know that there is something inside you that is greater than any obstacle” -Author Unknown.  I have been trying to remind myself of this very thing lately and find it very motivating.  I can do this and it’s totally mind over matter!

I wanted to talk a little more about the 30 day challenge I am doing.  The challenge is called Bikini Body Mommy Challenge 6.0, which my accountability partner also introduced to me (thank you!).  I love this challenge because on the days I don’t have a lot of time to work out, there is little room for excuses NOT to squeeze this workout in to my day-day because the workouts are so short.  Although, in my 3 weeks of doing it there have been a couple days where my excuses have gotten the best of me and I’ve opted out of a workout (but again, I am human).  I don’t beat myself up over it if I miss a day or two here and there as long as I don’t give up completely, a small break is completely ok.  It was so important for me to not pressure myself in any way when I began working out again but it was also important for me to find ways to stay motivated.  Having that accountability helps and setting realistic goals is another thing that is helping.  Find what will help motivate you because it’s so crucial in being successful in staying at it when times get hard and excuses creep in.

For those of you who want to check this challenge out you can find more information at this link:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zM4K-hfd4hE&t=23s.  I highly encourage you to check it out and give it try.  Even if this is all you can manage for a workout right now, I don’t think you’d be disappointed.  My motto is that moving and doing something each day is better then doing nothing each day.  You’ve got to start somewhere right? Some days I am only able to squeeze in this challenge and other days I’m lucky and can squeeze in this challenge plus an additional 45 minutes of exercise.  We are all a work in progress, and the hardest part is just beginning!  I am happy to say I’ve crossed that bridge.  There are other hardships along the way but I know I have a strong determination to get through those too!

Hopefully I will be sharing more with you on this journey and the topic of exercise in future posts!  Tell me, what are you doing today to help your body, mind and spirit?!?

 

Leave a Reply

