Confession time…

I am not a perfect person.

I am not a perfect wife.

I am not a perfect parent.

…and I never strive to be any of those three things.  Big shocker right?  If you could look into your crystal ball and see what goes on in my life on a daily basis I would more then likely look to you like a squirrel trying to cross a busy road.

I do however, try to do the best I can with each day I am given as an individual, a wife, and a parent.  Try being the key word.   I must say there are days that are easier to be at my best then others.  Some days, I feel like I’m doing a great job and other days I know I am struggling.  Lets face it, there are a lot of factors that play into being able to be at your best self on a daily basis.  There may even be parts of your day where you are practicing your best self, and something triggers you to be your worst self.  For me, being my best self tends to fluctuate with the passing hour, especially as a parent who is currently running on very little quality sleep!

Yesterday,  I had a conversation with a friend of mine. We both admitted that although we love our children with our everything, being a parent can be very trying at times and sometimes you are just not the parent you want to be– as I’m sure many can relate to.  There are times I am not proud of my parenting.  For example, this morning I lost my patience with my 4 year old because she was kicking me while trying to help her get dressed and ready for school.  Instead of showing her a bit of grace because it was early and I know she was tired, I snapped and yelled at her (probably making the situation worse). Was this my best self as a parent?  No.  Not at all.  There was much better ways of handling the situation.  Not even an hour later, I was heading out the door with her to wait for the bus and she turned to me and said “I love you Mama, have a good morning.”  We hugged, kissed and she was off.  In that moment, I forgot about our struggle we had earlier this morning and felt like I must be doing something right.

With that positive moment, and a little coffee…I feel like I’m ready to jump start my day and attempt to be my best self, best wife, and best parent that I possibly can be for today.  Being the best I can be is in no way perfect, and I know there are more trying times in my day to come with it’s speed bumps, detours, and winding roads. However, remember being your best self does not mean perfection.  Trying to be your best is all about learning to be better and making improvements along the way.  I know I’m always a work in progress, doing the best I am capable of doing in that second, minute, hour, and day!  Chin up to whoever is reading this-you are doing fine!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

