Random Friday thought…

Just so my readers are aware, I am posting this morning via my phone. I do not normally write my blog posts with my phone. I prefer to write them at my computer, early in the morning, with a mug of coffee that keeps me awake & motivated. My typing skills at my computer are excellent, and I’m talking speed wise. I realize that I’ve had many typos in blogs past, run on sentences when my brain is working faster then my fingers, and also some incomplete thoughts. However, as I continue to write this out on my cell phone (in a car, I might add), I am realizing this is not as enjoyable for me and it will probably be a short post because I “text” with my right pointer finger only, in a pecking like fashion…but a fast pecking, not a slow pecking like a really old person would do. It was pointed out to me that this way of texting dates me and is old school. Apparently, all the young kids these days text by holding their phones sideways and use both their thumbs. I have seen this first hand before and its actually very impressive. Old habits die hard though because i tried it and failed miserably. I am not one to change easily though and change is always hard on me, imagine that! …and wow, did I just say all the young kids these days?  Sounds just like something my own mom would say!

Now, I’m only 32 years old and I say only because nowadays that doesn’t seem that old. I am also a firm believer that you are only old as you feel. I certainly don’t feel like a spring chicken anymore but I also don’t feel like I am 32. Actually, I am inching closer to 33 because my birthday is in May. As the numbers continue to go up at each birthday, the more terrified I get. Getting old scares me.

I look at the elderly and have much respect for them. I also am always in awe of them and wonder what they looked like in their youth. I wonder how they lived their lives and wonder what they accomplished. I wonder what dreams they chased. I wonder about life lessons and hardships they faced. I wonder about their family life. Most of all, I wonder if they could go back to their 30 year old self, what kind of advice with they give themselves? 

Life goes so quickly. For me it’s been going by in the blink of an eye, more so now since my children have been born. I truly hope I can look back in my elderly years with little to no regets and see a life lived fully, a life filled with love and laughter and lessons learned. Tid bids about my life I can pass on to my own children with pride. Surely, there will be a new way of texting by then!

4 thoughts on “Random Friday thought…

  1. That way of texting that you’re talking about teenagers doing? SO not good for their thumbs!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Pecking is far better. I use the drag/swipe feature that my phones keyboard has. I love it!
    Also, I’ll be 37 in June and I definitely think about getting older, realizing I’m still young enough to change certain things about my life that I’m not yet happy with. Personal growth is really important to me. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m currently reading about cognitive therapy to see if it helps me recover from secondary infertility.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, that’s exactly the type of texting I’m talking about! I thought about touching on the drag/swipe feature too but that’s a whole different topic and something I can’t do either, ha ha!

      Personal growth is very important and it is a good feeling knowing we have the ability to change-if we want to!

      You will have to keep me posted on what you find out about cognitive therapy and if you try it. I’ve been trying to also think of ways to recover from SI as it is something that seems to always just linger, even when you’ve seen light at the end of the tunnel. Best of luck you you, it’s so tough!

      Like

  2. I text with my thumbs but don’t turn the phone sideways. I also use the suggested word bank a lot to avoid typing out every word because though I hate typing on my phone (well done for having enough patience to write a whole post on yours) I hate using “text speak” even more. As I look back on my part years (I’m also 32) there are loads of advice I would like to give my younger self, but then, the experiences I had have made me the person I am today and I’m happy with who I am. I can only hope that when I’m old, I won’t have too many regrets. Though, as Valerie points out, we’re still young enough to change certain things that we’re not happy with (that begs the question, though, do we ever really reach a moment in our lives where change isn’t possible anymore?). Ok, enough rambling, have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The word bank is nice, it’s auto correct I have a love hate relationship with. I’m surprised I haven’t seen some of my text conversations in some of those hilarious text memes you see! I also believe that all my experiences have shaped me into the person I was meant to be. However, I’ve never been much of a risk taker and I tend to let fear take the wheel and steer and with that said, I sometimes feel like I miss out on living life to my fullest. There is some regret I live, but thankfully it doesn’t overcome me. Thank you for your thought provoking comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

