Did you know?

April is Infertility Awareness month.

Fact:  

  • 1 in 8 couples (or 12% of married women) have trouble getting pregnant or sustaining a pregnancy. (2006-2010 National Survey of Family Growth, CDC)

Infertility is heart wrenching.  It is gut wrenching.  It tests your faith and your relationships.  It is life altering, forever.  April is Infertility Awareness month.  Although I see this topic getting openly talked about more and more, it still isn’t talked about nearly enough in my opinion.  It is my belief for those of us who are directly impacted, that if we want to start making a positive difference in regards to this topic and if we want to start seeing changes being made, we need to start sharing our stories and letting the world know how infertility has impacted us directly.  Sharing is a very personal thing and I completely respect those of you who are unable to do so at this time, but I truly hope that when you get to a place where you feel comfortable talking about your story that you will share it.  It’s completely alright if you never get to that point, but by sharing your story, it is just one simple way of bringing awareness about this topic to life.  It is real.  It affects so many people and it’s time it’s less taboo to talk about.

How has Infertility rocked your world?

One simple way to begin talking about your experience with infertility is to speak about how infertility has impacted your life. My husband and I struggled with Secondary Infertility trying to have our second child.  I could write a book about how infertility rocked my world, however, I will spare you right now and let you click back on blog entries past so as not to repeat my story.  Infertility was mentally, physically, emotionally and financially draining on my husband and I.  It affected us every single day, 24/7.  I always hear people describe it at a roller coaster ride and let me tell you it was the roller coaster ride of our lives.  Never in a million years did I think this would happen to us-but it did.  

What questions do you have for me?

The reason I started this blog was to become open about our struggle with Secondary Infertility.  I decided from the beginning to be open and very raw about our experiences and circumstances.  It was also my hope to grab the attention of others who may be struggling with similar circumstances and not only be able to relate to others but also be there for others.  This blog has always allowed me to shed light on a topic that has become very near and dear to me and very passionate about.  With this said, I am very open to start any type of dialogue on the topic of infertility with you or if you simply have questions regarding the topic or personal questions for me, please never hesitate to write me a comment.  I’m so very happy to connect with you about this!  

Challenge:

Post a fact about infertility on your Facebook page to bring awareness to infertility and state that April is Infertility Awareness month.

or

Share your struggle with a trusted friend or family member who may know nothing about infertility, simply with the intent to spread awareness about infertility.

or

Like, comment, or share my blog.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Did you know?

  1. I’ve been lucky and haven’t gone through the roller coaster ride of infertility. It took us 18 months to conceive my first and I remember finding it so very difficult. I remember all the moments in which I wondered what (or who) the problem was. I can only imagine how hard it must be for those who have to go through treatments as well as for those who conceived without too much fuss before, but deal with secondary infertility. It good to talk about such things. It makes those who are going through it feel less alone.

    As a point of curiosity, at which point is one defined as being infertile?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have always been told that if you and your partner have tried to have a baby, on your own, for a year with no success then you are considered infertile. However if you are over the age of 35, 6 months of trying unsuccessfully is considered to be infertility. Also, infertility can be the ability to get pregnant are constantly unable to keep a healthy pregnancy (miscarriage, etopic, etc).

    In our case, with our first it took almost 8 months to conceive her. At about the 4 month mark, my gut was telling me something was wrong because we were doing everything under the moon to get pregnant. I talked to my doctor about it and she basically shrugged me off and told me to come back at the 1 year mark if I didn’t get pregnant. Thankfully we got pregnant and I didn’t think twice about being infertile. Fast forward to trying the second time around and we had tried ever since our daughter was 1. After a year we got help and were then introduced to the term secondary infertility which is a label I quickly became very familiar with, unfortunately. It was certainly hard to go through this knowing we did get pregnant on our own the first time around with no medical intervention. However as the years kept passing with no baby and time was just ticking my heart was telling me we needed medical intervention. It is a difficult pill to swallow in more ways then one.

    I can imagine, even if you were not formally labeled as infertile, the heartache you experienced month after month with no positive result. It’s the constant wondering and worry that begins to eat away at you. I’m so glad that after 18 months you were able to conceive on your own. Although we were told that we only would have had a 10% change of conceiving on our own this time around, I often wonder if we would have just kept trying and trying if eventually luck and timing would have been on our side and it would have happened-however, I didn’t want to take my chances of it not happening! We are currently battling with ourselves if we want to try for a 3rd or just counting our blessings. On one hand we know if infertility was not in our cards, we know we would hands down try but being this is the cards we are being dealt we don’t know if we can financially afford another round of IVF. It’s not fair…but I have to accept that life isn’t fair.

    Thanks for your comment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

