NIAW Continues

 

I openly shared this video of our struggles on my Facebook page when we announced we were expecting with K.  I also shared it in this blog.  However, in light of National Infertility Awareness week I want to share it again.  Some of you may have already viewed it, others may not have.  It’s my wish that it gives those of you still struggling, a little bit of hope.

Watching it again myself brings tears to my eyes.  Reflecting back on this is still pretty emotional and raw for me.  Although, K has been with us for 5 months already,  there are many days it still feels so surreal. we beat the odds that were stacked against us for so long. She’s a thriving, beautiful, sweet and lovely little baby. I’m grateful she is happy and healthy. She’s truly a miracle and it’s no doubt that she adds such a special light of joy to our family. She fought to be with us just as much as we fought for her to exist and I can’t begin to express how lucky I feel. I have a feeling she’s going to be one tough cookie when she’s older!

 

Image may contain: 1 person

On the left are our 2 embryo’s we transplanted.  Unfortunately, one embryo did not make it.  Gratefully, our little fighter on the right did.  It’s still amazing to me how you can be so happy, sad, and grateful all at the same time.

Knowing we came out on the other side of infertility makes me forever grateful.  Yet, it pains me to know there are so many still struggling and not getting their desired outcome.  This circumstance in my life has truly opened my eyes and humbled me.  It’s amazing the things we can so easily take for granted.  What you many be complaining about is the very things someone else could so desperately be praying for today.  Be mindful.  Listen closely.  Pay attention.  Judge less.  Love more.  Be kind.  Be empathetic and be compassionate.

Although we came out on the other side, I have a feeling we could be meeting with this struggle again head on in our future.  I’m scared to go down this path again because I know what it’s like-words can not even describe how difficult of a journey it is.  In my heart I know I don’t want to be done having babies yet.  I’ve been told often that I should just count my blessings and enjoy being a family of four.  It is frustrating to hear that.  I count my blessings everyday and know I am one of the lucky ones.  I also can’t shut my heart off.  If I would have given up when things got hard trying for K, we never would be holding this little miracle in our arms.  We would never be kissing her sweet cheeks, snuggling her, or hearing her amazing cute giggles.  E would have never been a big sister.  Hope truly was the anchor to my soul.

Image may contain: 2 people, people sitting

Easter 2017.  The two biggest pieces of my heart looking adorable in their bunny ears!

Leave a Reply

