Ear Infection

This past Wednesday evening I had a glorious hour long massage as part of an early birthday present to myself.  It was heaven!  I haven’t felt that relaxed for quite a while now.  As we all know though, all good things must come to an end.  I will never understand why some hours feel like eternity, while other hours feel like they go by in the blink of an eye.  Well, I blinked and it felt like my pampering ended as quickly as it started.  As much as I wanted to beg my massage therapist to stay in that calm, quiet, stress-free environment I knew it was time to get up, get dressed, and mosey on back to my family. When I say mosey, I will admit that I was dragging my feet a bit in getting back.  I love my family, I really do!!!  However, I’ll admit breaks away are sometimes the best medicine for me.  I know this break away and this massage has been a long time coming.  I enjoyed it immensely-so much so, I scheduled another massage for myself at the end of August (mainly because my massage therapist talked me into it by giving me a discount if I made an appointment that same night for another one) and well, you don’t have to twist my leg to do that again!  Yes please, sign me up!!!

As I got home from my massage, both girls were snuggling on their daddy’s lap and sleeping.  It was quite the adorable picture actually-until my littlest woke up and started screaming bloody murder and would not stop.  I asked my husband if she had been like this for him while I was gone and he said she was a bit fussy but he got her to calm down, obviously.  So, I figured she just wanted to soothe herself back to sleep by nursing like she so often does, but nursing was not working like it usually does.  She would latch and unlatch and arch her back and scream and try again.  I finally was able to get her back to sleep and I laid her down in her co-sleeper (uffda!).  However, 15 minutes later she was screaming again.  This was very unlike her and my instincts were telling me something wasn’t right.  I went to get her and she seemed like she was in pain.  Needless to say, I spent the night on the couch and K was only comfortable in an upright position on my chest.  It was a rough night.  When we woke up the next day, she seemed to continue to be irritable and that’s when my gut instinct started telling me her ears were hurting her.  However, I know nothing about ear issues so  I called my husband and told him I was taking her in to the doctor to double check.  He trusted my decision, but he also tried to tell me it was just a cold.

Despite my husband thinking it was just a cold, I took K in and she was seen in the late afternoon on Friday.  Low and behold, it turned out she did indeed have an ear infection in her right ear.  Mama bear knows best and I’m glad I listened to my instinct on this one.  This will be her first ear infection ever. We got very lucky with E as she has yet to have an ear infection.  Hopefully, it isn’t something that is repetitive and she continues to get.  She was down right miserable.  Poor girly.  It’s never fun seeing your babies in pain, especially when you feel so helpless and everything that typically makes them feel better isn’t working.  She was sent home with a 10 day antibiotic which has been making her poop a lot and in turn is making her bottom very sore-so she’s been irritable in that way now too.  Sometimes you feel like you just can’t win. She is nursing better and sleeping better though, so it must be doing it’s job somewhat.

Recently, I’ve been trying to learn more about ear infections and also  how chiropractic care can help with them.  This is something I want to look into more if by chance ear infections are a reoccurring issue for K (hopefully not).  I have such little experience with ear infections I honestly didn’t know what all the symptoms could even be. I wasn’t even 100% sure if that is what was going on, it was just honestly my instinct I listened to.  She wasn’t running a fever or pulling on her ears.  She simply had trouble nursing and sleeping and it was by far worse for her at night than during the day.  The doctor told me sometimes kids won’t display any symptoms.  So it’s important to pay attention to the little things and know the true symptoms of an ear infection as well.  If any of you have any experience on this topic, I’d love to hear your two cents!  Feel free to leave me your feedback in the comments!

While I’m waiting for your responses, I’m going to be day dreaming of my Wednesday even massage, while sipping my almost cold coffee.  It’s only Tuesday, but it’s been a week already!  It’s always insane to me how I can be in a complete zen mood one minute and so incredibly stressed and panicked the next.  Things change quickly.  This is why it’s so important to not take for granted those blissful, enjoyable moments in time!  Deep breaths and mosey on!

2 thoughts on “Ear Infection

  1. Oh dear! Sorry to hear about the ear infection, those suck! Some of the telltale signs around our house are (for babies) screaming when put on back, pulling of the ear, apparent discomfort during nursing (as you experienced). Waking up screaming (frequently) during nights and naps is another sign. Decreased appetite, low-grade fever, decreased energy are other pretty good signs. I hope it is just a one-time thing for your daughter! I ended up bringing my oldest to see an osteopath a couple of years back because he kept getting back to back ear infections. He received three treatments and we haven’t had any problems since.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I appreciate you sharing your experience. It seems everyone I have talked to is different when it comes to symptoms. I didn’t think about researching osteopaths. For some reason my brain went right to chiropractic. I’m so happy for you that it helped because they do indeed suck. No fun to feel so helpless when your child is in pain when you can’t get them into the doctor right away and get a quick fix.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

