I’ll Do It Tomorrow

This week I feel like I’ve been busy doing many different things.  If you asked me to tell you’ve why I’ve been so busy I really couldn’t tell you.  It would also be a mystery as to why my to-do list is ever long and nothing I had anticipated getting done this week has gotten done.  Being honest with myself, I feel like those busy things I have been wasting my time doing, have been an excuse to help me avoid what it is I should actually be doing.  I’ve been in this funk before and it’s never a good thing. In all reality, it just sets me back and adds more to my plate.  Overwhelming is a good word for how it makes me feel when I don’t get things done.

I’ve been easily distracted too and know this is procrastination at it’s finest.  The good intention is there, yet I just find myself saying “I’ll do it tomorrow.”  In actuality, I should be doing it now because in the past when I’ve gotten in this mode I quickly learn it’s either doing the important task now because if I don’t it turns into never.  Waking up on Monday, I just knew it would be this kind of week for me.  I woke up tired, and feeling like I was on the verge of getting a cold.  I was supposed to get my allergy shot, but decided not to.  Why?  Because I’ll just do it next Monday.  The joke is probably going to be on me when something comes up and I can’t go then either.  Damn it!  I should have just gone this week!  Do you ever find yourself doing this?  It’s really annoying when these moods creep up because it ends up creating more of a headache later on and it certainly doesn’t help in the stress department.

As I was watching my oldest daughter practically bouncing off the walls with energy this morning while she was waiting to get on the bus for school, I couldn’t help but think to myself, “I wish I had her big ball of energy, I’d crush the life out of my to-do list.”  Instead, I am finding myself dragging my feet yet again today for the 4th day in a row.  Seriously, what is my problem?  I need to get it together!

Here are a few things I am procrastinating (that are not even super big-deal things) this week in no particular order:

  1. Menu Planning
  2. Grocery shopping
  3. Cleaning my house: Bathrooms (getting the lime build up off our faucets especially), floors, Kitchen, bedrooms, cleaning the carpets, etc.
  4. Working out
  5. Shopping for a Mother’s Day gift for my Mom & an end of the year gift for E’s teachers
  6. Yard work-Digging up plants, cleaning out the window wells, mowing the lawn and weeding
  7. Purging of junk and getting rid of clutter
  8. Doing a shutterfly order (I’m way behind on scrapbooks and pictures for the girls)
  9. Transplanting my aloe and Jade plant
  10. Spring/Summer shopping:  For the girls and myself
  11. Planning E’s birthday party for June (I know I’ve got time, but I’m usually already on top of this and I’m clueless for this year).
  12. Preparing Learning activities for the kids for the next two weeks
  13. Running small errands:  Filling my car with gas, getting stamps
  14. Getting my 3 walks a day in/walking the dog
  15. Planning for our vegetable garden this year (which will need to get planted in a few short weeks).
  16. Research on how to do my DIY project:  Refinishing 4 dressers and a headboard.

There is the old saying that “The best way to get something done is to begin.”  There is also the concept of positive perspective.   A positive attitude has not been my strong point this week.  Instead of saying “I’ll do it tomorrow”, I should be telling myself “I can get through this task, even though it’s not my favorite.  Once it’s done, I won’t have to do it again for a while and then I’ll have free time to do something I enjoy or to just relax.”  There are many benefits to completing these tasks as well and maybe they would get done if I started focusing on the benefits of finishing them.  After revisiting my list of to-do’s I may also be feeling overwhelmed by the list in its entirety.  Maybe if I break it down and give myself an allotted time frame to work on or accomplish each task from day to day, even if I don’t finish some of them from beginning to end, at least I have started working on completing them.   This takes some of the pressure off.  Most importantly, I just need to stop making up excuses so I start seeing results.  When I start seeing results I know that will aid in my energy level because I will feel accomplished!

Now that I’ve given myself time to reflect and a small pep talk it’s time to begin!

 

One thought on “I’ll Do It Tomorrow

  1. I know this feeling a too well. I’m a seasoned pro when it comes to procrastination and I’m right back to putting things off now for the past couple of weeks. I need to get a grip. My sister once told me about the “4 second rule” (or something to that effect). It basically means that when you have the impulse to do something, you have 4 seconds to act on that impulse before it disappears. And now, I really have to take care of some clothes folding!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

