Aimless 20 Talk Tuesday

Welcome to Aimless 20 Talk Tuesday.  Another Tuesday has rolled around where I don’t have a specific topic to discuss, rather just random thoughts I need to release.  If it isn’t your thing to listen to me ramble, no offense will be taken.  Hopefully you can find other topics on this blog you can relate to or issues that make you want to engage with me on.  I’m always open for a discussion and absolutely love those few comments that I receive.  I hope your Tuesday is way better then your Monday and to to all the Mama bears out there, I hope you were able to shake off the feelings of Mombie yesterday and were able to use my simple motivation tips to get you though.

  1.  My daughter has her very last soccer game tonight and I am that mom who just remembered I still need to wash her soccer jersey, shorts and soccer socks from last week.  Excuse me for a second while I go throw those in the washing machine!
  2. Guilty as charged.  I bought all but 7 items on E’s kindergarten school supply list online.  It was fabulous, fast & stress free.  I am feeling a little sad that I didn’t actually take E to go to the store to get the supplies because as a little girl growing up I remember it was so fun going with my mom to pick out and buy all the school supplies with her and my sisters (thinking back it was probably not so much fun for her, haha).  However,  I guess we still need those last few items that were out of stock online and she will also need to pick out a new backpack, tennis shoes and clothes.  I’m sure we can make a day of it just her and I to go do that…feeling less sad now.  I am new at this whole school shopping thing…for those of you with kiddos, do you take them to the store to pick out supplies or do you do fuss free and order online?  Advice or tips on how to go about it as the list can be overwhelming!  At this point I didn’t even really care about looking for deals, I just wanted a one stop fast purchase and so target.com it was!
  3. Did they change the sizing of women’s tennis shoes or did my feet just expand?  I have bought two pairs online for myself and have had to return both pairs (size 8) because they are too small.  Size 8 has always been my shoe size and I’ve never had a problem ordering without first trying shoes on and having to return them because they are too small.  It is so terribly hard to get out and do any shopping for myself and I am in desperate need of a pair of work out shoes-the ones I have had now are about a year in and my feet are really starting to hurt wearing them when I work out.  The last pair I bought was Asics brand, these last two were New Balance-maybe just the brand?  Bottom line is I need to take time to go try on some shoes because I need to find a winner.  My poor aching feet!
  4. K has been sleeping terribly this week.  She’s been getting up every 1.5 to 2 hours and just wanting to nurse.  She was a little irritable this morning, not like herself and now my mommy bear instinct is wondering if she has another ear infection.  She did just have her first tooth poke through though so I wonder if it’s just teething.  I hate the mysterious symptoms of ear infection vs. teething symptoms.
  5. We have had two meals worth of green beans from our small garden.  They are such a treat.  I just love all the fresh garden goodness this time of year.
  6. I’ve been debating if I want to keep my hair longer or chop it off short again.  I go back and forth and it’s always a battle with myself.  Decisions, decisions.
  7. We got a new dishwasher a couple weeks ago.  Our old one bit the dust.  It seriously sounded like an airplane was landing in our kitchen when it was running.  We stopped running it at night because it was too loud, so I would have to run it during the day and it was so annoying.  We are loving our new and very quiet dishwasher.  Thanks Bosch for surpassing my expectations in a quality dishwasher.  The true test is if you outlive our last one, which was a completely different brand.
  8. My 5 year old has been begging me to take her to Build A Bear Workshop.  I honestly do not want to spend that much money on a stuffed animal.  She has a million dolls and stuffed animals in which have no place to go but the floor of her bedroom and they create so much clutter.  She has had a stuffed animal since she was little that she is partial to so I know nothing else will replace that. However, while I was pumping this morning she so innocently came in and randomly asked me, “Mama, did you know that Build A Bear work shop is proudly supported by PBS kids?”.  It was as if that lone fact would convince me to take her.  It made me laugh a little bit!  I really should just suck it up and take her.  She’s only a kid once and it would give us a little something to do together and also make her heart happy.  When I look at it that way, it’s worth every penny spent!
  9. I love that I’ve been a SAHM, but have been able to bring in a little bit of extra income by watching extra kiddos in my home.  The little boy I currently watch is going to be going to school in the Fall so I won’t have him weekly anymore, but will have him occasional days.  I’m torn if I should look for another part time family to work with or seriously look for a flexible part time job in the evenings or something.  I just don’t know what to do.
  10. I’ve been slacking on my water intake lately.  I was doing so well.  I need to keep it up.  When I had kidney stones, my doctor told me that I should be drinking about 101 oz. per day.  That, to me, is a crazy amount of water.  I was getting just under the 100 oz. mark but as of lately I just can’t do it.
  11. My house is disgusting.  It needs a major, heavy duty cleaning.  I do not feel like being the magical cleaning fairy anymore though.  I’m on strike!
  12. I just freaked out for a split second.  My 8 month old is crawling around the floor and I noticed a huge dark purple bruised looking mark on her leg….no bruise, haha…just a smooshed blueberry stain on her chunky leg.
  13. Thoughts on stay-cations with your family when you can’t afford an actual vacation?  How do you avoid the stresses of being at home but still allowing yourself to “be on vacation”.
  14. My favorite flower is the Star-Gazer Lily.  Mine were chewed by rabbits last year and I had high hopes that they would come up and bloom this year.  I have not seen them and it makes me sad.  I need to remember to buy more and plant for next year.
  15. I am in a few mom groups and I have been reading a lot of moms freaking out because their 8 and 9 year olds have gotten their periods already.  Holy crap!  That just seems so young, although I realize girls all develop differently at different ages.  Some are early and some are younger and blooming (Gosh I hate that term for that).  I was reading some discussion about why girls seem to be going through puberty at such an early age and a lot of people seemed to come to the conclusion it has something to do with all the crap they put in foods these days.  What are your thoughts on this?  It makes me then tornado into thinking about infertility and how early blooming can affect fertility?  Interesting thoughts really.
  16. If one saying rings true, it is “The grass isn’t always greener on the other side”.
  17. My older sister and I enjoy playing tennis, however we had a lot on our minds last night and instead of playing we did more venting and talking.  I told her from now on we are just going to play Ventis instead of Tennis.  That is what I did last night to have some “me” time.  For once, I took my own advice and it was such a lovely break.  I love my sisters.
  18. I finished my DIY project and am in love with the end result.  I am itching to do the rest of my furniture I have great plans for.  I will try to post a blog post about it soon.
  19. Do you have a FitBit?  If so, lets connect.  I love to do challenges and I need more motivation in my life to get moving. Goals!
  20. We are on the fence about buying a camper.  For those of you who have one what do you love about it and what do you hate about it?  Is it worth the purchase?  We love camping and go every summer and would probably go more if we had a camper.  It is the price tag that gets me, especially because we had a year last year with our finances and any big purchases right now feel like they would be in vain.  I hate money.
Leave a Reply

